Camp NaNoWriMo July 2015: Day 3

Today was yet another semi-unproductive day in NaNo World. I do have somewhat of an excuse: I was away from a computer all day and then, despite two healthy coats of SPF 50, I still wound up with a nasty sunburn. Thus the reason I am an indoorsy person. Well, what’s camp without a little sunburn?

It’s very odd for me to be going so slow in week one. Usually I come out like gang busters in the first 5 to 7 days. Last year, I was at almost 6,000 words on day one of regular NaNo. I just find it harder to commit to Camp NaNo for some reason. I’ve never finished an April session even after three attempts. I did win July last year, but only at a goal of 25,000. The only explanations I can come up with are 1: Camp NaNo isn’t as big of a deal as regular NaNo. There’s just not as much fanfare, for lack of a better term. There are write ins every day where I live in November (Not that I’ve ever been to one…) and weekly meetings and seminars. For Camp? Nothing. It’s harder to get into the spirit of it, I suppose. 2: I usually try not to start new projects for camp. It’s a lot harder to get excited about editing than it is about starting something new. Who in the world likes editing?

I will not give in. Nope, not this time. This novel is getting edited before November one way or another. I hope everyone else is doing a lot better than i am so far. And to think, we haven’t even reached the dreaded week two slump…

Leave a comment