Camp NaNoWriMo July and 2015: Day 2

Day two of my editing adventure in Camp NaNo did not go swimmingly… Exhaustion got the better of me and I only got a little over 1,000 words done. On the bright side, I’ve done quite a bit in the worldbuilding department the past two days, like actually solidifying how my world’s government works. That alone has been a huge help already, even with my word count at a whopping 2,179. I also created a rough map of my world, which I highly recommend if you’re writing high fantasy. If you’re a visual person like me, it will help you to keep yourself oriented within your own world and keep you from having spacial plot-holes (I thought you said that country was to the south fifty pages ago…)

Another bright side moment of the day, I’ve been able to add some length to the first chapter. I’m only about two-thirds of the way through it, but it’s going to end up at least 1,000 words longer. Yes, I know wordiness is not always good, but trust me, it needs the extra volume. 

All in all, not a great day quantity wise, but it is the quality that counts, is it not? Hopefully after 4th of July weekend has passed, I’ll be able to pick up the pace a bit. I should note that my goal is 35,000, not 50,000. I would be much more concerned with my word count if I had a higher goal. For me, I’m right on track. Let’s just hope it stays that way…

Leave a comment